SOUTH DUBLIN COUNTY COUNCIL



MEETING OF SOUTH DUBLIN COUNTY COUNCIL

REPORT OF THE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT, ENTERPRISE AND TOURISM STRATEGIC POLICY COMMITTEE

MEETING HELD ON WEDNESDAY 14th MAY 2025

Members	Council Officials	
Cllr. P. Kearns	Jason Frehill	Director of Service
Cllr. R. McMahon	Tom Rooney	Head of Enterprise
Cllr. S. O'Hara [Apologies]	Peter Connolly	Senior Enterprise Development Officer
Cllr. L. O'Toole	Laura Leonard	Senior Executive Officer
Cllr V. Casserly (chair)	Des English	Administrative Officer
Cllr. J. Sinnott [Apologies]	Cliodhna Scanlon	Project Manager
Cllr. J Sheehy (Apologies)	Mairead Murphy	Senior Staff Officer
Cllr. P.Holohan (Apologies)	Brian Booth	Staff Officer
Representatives		
Lisa Rowntree, Public Participation Network		
Betty Tyrell Collard Trade Union		
Prashant Shukla, Public Participa	tion Network	
Simon Van Lonkhuyzen Business Commercial Overseas		
Harry Simpson Business Commer	cial Indigenous	
Miriam O'Donohue, TUD Tallaght	t	

Apologies
Simon Van Lonkhuyzen Business Commercial Overseas
Cllr. S. O'Hara
Cllr. P.Holohan
Cllr. J. Sinnott
Cllr. J Sheehy
Miriam O'Donohue, TUD Tallaght

The meeting was Chaired by Cllr. V.Casserly.

Councillor Vicky Casserly and Jason Frehill, **Director of Service** welcomed Mark O'Connell and Roslyn Neill of OCO Global to the meeting.

Headed Item 1: Confirmation of Minutes

Minutes of EETD SPC held on 12th February 2025.

The Minutes were Proposed Cllr V. Casserly and seconded by Cllr. R. McMahon and Agreed.

Headed Item 2: County Economic Strategy

Mark O'Connell of OCO Global presented the progress report on the development of the County Economic Strategy, he was assisted by his colleague Roslyn Neill.

Following the presentation, an interactive discussion took place and questions raised by Cllrs. V. Casserly, R. McMahon, P. Kearns and Harry Simpson were addressed by Jason Frehill, Laura Leonard and Mark O'Connell.

The Report on the item was Noted.

Headed Item 3: Tourism Update

Jason Frehill, DOS and Mairead Murphy, SSO presented a comprehensive report on the main County Tourism projects and delivery of Tourism Strategy. The matter of a feasibility study for the provision of a Tourist Hotel was put forward for discussion.

Cllrs. V Casserly, P. Kearns, L. O'Toole, R. McMahon, Harry Simpson and Lisa Rowntree, raised questions on matters including Changing Places facilities in Tourism projects generally, Lucan House, Tallaght Heritage Centre, Grange Cottage proposals, Rathfarnham Castle & Stables, Bru Chronain, summer markets. The members indicated their support for a Feasibility Study into the provision of a Tourist Hotel. Matters raised were responded to by Jason Frehill and Mairead Murphy.

The report on the item was Noted.

Headed Item 4: Work IQ Innovation Centre

Tom Rooney, Head of Local Enterprise presented the report on Work IQ as it approaches the anniversary of its opening in July 2025.

Cllrs. L O'Toole and R McMahon contributed to the discussion.

The report on the item was Noted.

Headed Item 5: Tallaght Stadium Commercial Appraisal Plans.

Laura Leonard, SEO presented a detailed report on the engagement of Teneo to undertake two distinct tasks, to Develop a long-term Commercial Strategy for the Stadium and to Examine Naming Development and Brand Identity options.

The following members contributed to the discussion on the item, ClIrs L. O'Toole, P. Kearns, R. McMahon and V. Casserly.

The report on the item was then Noted.

Headed Item 6: Transient Visitor Tax - update

Laura Leonard, SEO gave a verbal update on the matter which had been discussed at the February SPC. Further to that discussion and follow up engagement with Fingal County Council and Dublin City Council, she advised that Dublin City Council had been informed that representatives from the SPC had been nominated for the suggested Dublin Local Authorities working group, namely Cllrs. P. Kearns and L. O'Toole.

Follow up on the establishment of this group is expected from Dublin City Council, following their relevant SPC Meeting.

The update was Noted.

Headed Item 7: A.O.B.

Jason Frehill, DOS drew the members attention to the changes planned to the organisational /Directorate structure following the new SDCC brand launch.

Cllrs R. McMahon, P. Kearns, L O'Toole and V. Casserly commented. The details were Noted.

The meeting ended at 19:35 p.m.

The Chairperson Cllr. V. Casserly concluded the meeting.